Open Accessibility Menu

Kerr Scholarships Awarded by BRMC

  • Category: Foundation
  • Posted On:
  • Written By: Baxter Regional Medical Center
Kerr Scholarships Awarded by BRMC

Those attending the 2018 Kerr Scholarship dinner held in Little Rock include (standing, from left) Austin Wilkie, Alex Kilgore, Chase Armistead, (sitting, from left) Preslie White, Samantha Mohler, Dr. Robert L. Kerr, and Heather Morgan. The remaining recipients were unable to attend the event.

Baxter Regional Medical Center awarded its annual recipients of the Dr. Robert L. Kerr Annual Medical Student Scholarship in a ceremony Thursday, August 9 in Little Rock. Twenty-one medical/dental students from the Baxter Regional market area were recognized and awarded the scholarship in support of tuition for medical or dental school.

Dr. Robert L. and Mrs. Kerr attended the event along with some of their family. Dr. Kerr, a longtime physician in Mountain Home now retired in Little Rock, encouraged each of the students in their chosen career in medicine. He shared a personal message with the students and their families and guests in attendance.

The scholarship recipients were welcomed by Sarah Edwards, BRMC Physician and Advanced Practice Recruiter, followed by remarks from Ron Peterson, BRMC President and CEO. Barney Larry, BRMC VP/Business Development and Executive Director, Baxter Regional Hospital Foundation, described the Kerr Medical Student Scholarship as “a way to honor a great man and great physician, Dr. Robert L. Kerr, who served our community for many years.”

This year’s Kerr Scholarship recipients are Chase Armistead, Alex Kilgore, Austin Wilkie, Preslie White, Samantha Mohler, Heather Morgan, Ann Robbins, Jake Bolt, Bobie Jo Cooper, Levi Watson, Heather Kinder, Samantha Conner, Trevor Meece, Annie Avilez, Josh Spore, Caroline Litty, Alex Hagaman, Grant Conner, Monroe Albertson, Seth Sullivant and Lindsay Harrison.

Funding is provided by the Baxter Regional Hospital Foundation. Scholarships are presented annually. To be eligible, students must show proof of enrollment in an accredited medical program leading to a degree of Medical Doctor, Doctor of Osteopathy or a dental program leading to a degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery or Doctor of Dental Medicine and demonstrate residency in the BRMC designated service area (including the following counties: Baxter, Marion, Fulton, Izard, Sharp, Stone, and Searcy, Arkansas, and Ozark County, Missouri). For more information, contact Sarah Edwards, BRMC Physician and Advanced Practice Recruiter, at (870) 508-1010 or